
This comparison is part of our MCP comparisons, within The MCP Guide. Facts are checked against each vendor's own documentation and pricing pages on the date shown.
Pick Portkey if you want a hosted gateway with a central MCP registry, per-workspace access and detailed tool-call logs, and you are comfortable buying from Palo Alto Networks. Pick Bifrost if you want an open-source gateway you host yourself, with tool calls held for approval by default.
Both are AI gateways first. They route model calls to many providers, and both added MCP gateway features on top. Your choice usually follows which one you would use for model traffic anyway.
Checked against: Portkey's MCP Gateway docs and Bifrost's MCP docs on 28 October 2026. eSEOspace did not test either product.
Key Takeaways
- Palo Alto Networks says it closed its acquisition of Portkey on 29 May 2026, and Portkey's site now says "Portkey is now PRISMA AIRS AI Gateway."
- Portkey's MCP Gateway lets clients sign in once, injects upstream credentials and logs "every tool call" with user, parameters and response.
- Bifrost, built by Maxim, is Apache 2.0 licensed, and its docs say "by default, Bifrost does NOT automatically execute tool calls."
- Bifrost filters tools per virtual key and per request; Portkey controls access per workspace and user and can enable or disable tools per user.
- Portkey lists a free Developer plan and Production at $49 a month; Bifrost OSS is free and Enterprise is custom, with a 14-day trial.
At a glance
| Item | Portkey | Bifrost |
|---|---|---|
| Owner | Palo Alto Networks (acquisition closed 29 May 2026) | Maxim |
| Open source | Gateway repo is MIT licensed; MCP feature split not stated | Apache 2.0 |
| MCP role | Gateway between MCP clients and servers | MCP client to upstream servers; optional MCP server to your clients |
| Sign-in | Clients sign in once; Okta and Auth0 supported | Virtual keys, browser OAuth, per-user OAuth |
| Tool access | Per workspace and user; per-user tool provisioning | Per virtual key; per-request header can narrow the list |
| Tool execution | Not documented on the pages checked | Manual by default; Agent Mode for listed tools |
| Registry | MCP Registry in the UI | Not documented |
| Logs | Every tool call with user, parameters, response | Not detailed on the MCP overview page |
| Price | Free Developer; Production $49/month; Enterprise custom | OSS free; Enterprise custom |
Where Portkey is stronger
A registry developers can browse
Portkey's MCP Gateway docs describe an MCP Registry where teams add external, internal or public servers. Admins configure auth there and provision access to workspaces. Developers can browse servers and tools, copy connection URLs and test tools from the interface. That gives staff one approved list instead of a pile of config files.
Sign in once, credentials injected
Clients authenticate once to Portkey. The gateway then injects the right upstream credentials, such as OAuth tokens, API keys or identity headers, and checks permissions on each request. The docs say it supports identity providers such as Okta and Auth0. Our guide to token passthrough risks explains why injecting credentials at the gateway is safer than handing tokens to clients.
Logs built for audits
The docs say every tool call is logged with the user, parameters and response. Logs can be filtered by server, user or time range. The Portkey gateway repository adds that it can "forward user identity (email, team, roles) to MCP servers automatically."
Backed by a security vendor
Palo Alto Networks' press release says Portkey is "serving as the foundational AI Gateway for Prisma AIRS." For buyers who already use Palo Alto, that may simplify procurement. For others, it is a vendor change to factor in.
Where Bifrost is stronger
Approval by default
Bifrost's MCP docs state that "by default, Bifrost does NOT automatically execute tool calls." Execution needs an explicit API call. Agent Mode can auto-run specific tools you list, but that setting is ignored in gateway-only mode, where your host app handles approvals. This fits the human-in-the-loop advice in our approval fatigue guide.
Fine-grained tool filtering
Virtual keys control which tools each key can use, set per MCP client. A request header can narrow the tool list for one call but cannot widen it. That lets you give one app or team a small, safe tool set without separate gateways.
Open source you can self-host
The Bifrost repository is Apache 2.0 licensed and credits Maxim. The pricing page lists self-hosting through Docker, Kubernetes or a Go binary. Bifrost connects to upstream MCP servers over stdio, HTTP or SSE.
Code Mode for many servers
Code Mode has the model write Python that calls tools in a sandbox, instead of loading every tool definition. Bifrost's docs say this "can reduce input token usage by up to 92.8%" and recommend it for three or more MCP servers. That figure is Bifrost's own claim.
Pricing
Portkey's pricing page listed these plans on 28 October 2026:
| Portkey plan | Price | Recorded logs |
|---|---|---|
| Open Source | Self-hosted, no price listed | Not stated |
| Developer | Free | 10,000 a month; 3-day log retention |
| Production | $49/month, plus $9 per extra 100,000 requests | 100,000 a month; 30-day log retention |
| Enterprise | Custom | 10 million plus a month; custom retention |
The pricing page does not say which plans include the MCP Gateway. Confirm that before you budget.
Bifrost's pricing page listed:
| Bifrost plan | Price | MCP notes |
|---|---|---|
| OSS | Free forever | Highlights include MCP Gateway with Code Mode |
| Enterprise | Custom; 14-day free trial | Adds MCP with Federated Auth |
The Bifrost README also lists "MCP gateway" among capabilities that enterprise deployments unlock. Because the pricing page and README frame it differently, check which MCP features you need are in OSS.
Security and admin controls
| Control | Portkey | Bifrost |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | Okta, Auth0; forwards user email, team, roles | Virtual keys; per-user OAuth and headers |
| Per-user tool rules | Tool provisioning per user | Per virtual key; request header narrows only |
| Human approval | Not documented on the pages checked | Default; tools must be called explicitly |
| Logging | Every tool call with user, parameters, response | Not detailed on the MCP overview |
| Hosting | Hosted plans; open-source repo | Self-hosted OSS; Enterprise |
| Vendor | Palo Alto Networks | Maxim |
Neither MCP page we checked lists compliance certifications. Ask each vendor for current reports. For a full checklist, see our MCP vendor security questionnaire.
Which to choose
Pick Portkey if:
- You want a hosted MCP registry that developers can browse and test.
- Audit logs with user, parameters and response are a must.
- You already buy from Palo Alto Networks or use Prisma AIRS.
Pick Bifrost if:
- You want to self-host an Apache 2.0 gateway.
- You want tool calls held for approval unless you opt in to auto-run.
- You connect many MCP servers and want Code Mode to cut tool-definition tokens.
For other options, see our list of MCP gateways, the MCP gateways explainer and our other MCP comparisons.
Next step
Decide first whether you must self-host. That usually settles this pair. If you want help setting up the gateway and the approved server list, our MCP development team can help.
Frequently asked questions
Is Portkey still an independent company?
No. Palo Alto Networks says it closed its acquisition of Portkey on 29 May 2026. Portkey's site now says "Portkey is now PRISMA AIRS AI Gateway."
Is Bifrost free?
The OSS edition is free and Apache 2.0 licensed. Enterprise has custom pricing and a 14-day free trial, per Maxim's pricing page.
Which plan includes Portkey's MCP Gateway?
Portkey's pricing page does not say. The MCP Gateway appears as a product in the site navigation, so ask Portkey which plan covers it.
Does Bifrost work with Claude Desktop?
Bifrost's docs say it can optionally act as an MCP server that exposes its connected tools to clients such as Claude Desktop.











