Menu

Web Design

Therapy Booking Software Pricing in 2026: Per-Clinician Costs and Add-Ons

What therapy booking software really costs per clinician in 2026, including text reminder fees, BAA plans and worked examples for solo and 5-clinician practices.

By: Irina ShvayaNovember 2, 2026

Therapy Booking Software Pricing in 2026: Per-Clinician Costs and Add-Ons

This article is part of our Industry Software Guides: the website platforms, forms and booking tools practices and contractors use, with prices checked on vendor pages. Want to know where your site stands? Get a free 20–30 page website audit within 24 hours.

Most therapy practices pay $39 to $99 a month for the first clinician and $29 to $74 for each extra clinician, once online booking and text reminders are switched on. The headline price is rarely the real price. Booking features, text reminders and the plan that includes a BAA often sit one tier above the cheapest plan.

This guide shows plan-by-plan prices for seven tools, the add-ons that change the bill, and a worked example for a solo therapist and a five-clinician group. Every price was checked against the vendor's pricing page on 2 November 2026.

Budget for the plan that includes booking, reminders and a BAA, not the cheapest plan on the page.

How therapy booking software is priced

You will see three pricing models:

  • Base fee plus per-clinician seats. You pay for the first clinician, then a lower rate for each extra one. SimplePractice, Jane, TherapyNotes, IntakeQ and Sessions Health work this way.
  • Flat per-therapist pricing. Every therapist pays the same rate. TheraNest works this way.
  • Per-calendar scheduling plans. Standalone schedulers like Acuity charge by plan, with a cap on calendars, and do not include notes or billing.

Two details move the bill more than the base price: whether text reminders are free or billed per message, and which plan includes a BAA. Under HHS guidance on business associates, a covered entity may share PHI with a vendor only after getting written assurances, usually a business associate agreement. A BAA alone does not make your practice compliant, and this is not legal advice.

Plan-by-plan prices (checked 2 November 2026)

All-in-one EHRs with booking

Tool and planFirst clinicianEach extra clinicianOnline bookingText reminders
SimplePractice Starter$49/moNot availableRequestsNot included
SimplePractice Essential$79/moNot availableRequestsIncluded
SimplePractice Plus$99/mo$74/moRequests + website widgetIncluded
Jane Balance$59/mo (20 appointments/mo)Not availableReal-timeNot listed
Jane Practice$79/mo$35 full-time / $17.50 part-timeReal-timeFree where available
Jane Thrive$99/mo$40 full-time / $20 part-timeReal-time + waitlistFree where available
TherapyNotes Solo$69/moNot availablePortal requests14¢ per text or call
TherapyNotes Group$89/mo$60/moPortal requests14¢ per text or call
IntakeQ Practice Management$84.90/mo$30/moBooking widgetReminders listed, channel not stated
TheraNest Essentials$29/therapist$29/therapistNot includedNot included
TheraNest Advanced$59/therapist$59/therapistIncluded50/mo free, then $0.10 each
TheraNest Premier$89/therapist$89/therapistIncludedUnlimited (fair use)
Sessions Health Professional$39/mo$29/moPortal requestsNo extra charge

Sources: SimplePractice pricing and its plan comparison; Jane pricing; TherapyNotes pricing; IntakeQ pricing; TheraNest pricing; Sessions Health pricing. All are monthly list prices. TheraNest's yearly billing drops the rates to $27, $54 and $82 per therapist.

A few notes on that table. SimplePractice only lets you add clinicians on Plus, and groups of 6+ practitioners get custom pricing. Jane counts a practitioner as part-time below 24 booked hours a week, and admin staff with no bookings are free. IntakeQ also sells a low-volume Practice Management plan at $59.90/mo plus $25 per practitioner, capped at 25 appointments and 25 client form submissions per 30 days.

Standalone schedulers

Tool and planAnnual billingMonthly billingCalendarsBAA
Acuity Starter$16/mo$20/mo1No
Acuity Standard$27/mo$34/moUp to 6No
Acuity Premium$55/mo$69/moUp to 36Yes, "Sign BAA for HIPAA compliance"

Source: Acuity Scheduling pricing. Standard and Premium include automated SMS reminders.

Calendly's Standard plan is $10 per seat per month on annual billing, but its customer terms say customer data must not contain protected health information. It is fine for a first-contact call with no clinical questions, and not for client scheduling.

Hidden costs to budget for

  • Text reminders billed per message. TherapyNotes charges 14¢ per text or call. TheraNest Advanced charges $0.10 per reminder after 50 a month.
  • AMA CPT code fees. SimplePractice charges $20 a year per clinician. TheraNest charges $19.50 per therapist, billed each December.
  • Payment processing. SimplePractice lists 3.15% + $0.30 per transaction, Jane Payments 2.85% + $0.25 online, TherapyNotes 3.1% plus 30¢, TheraNest 2.99% + $0.30, and Sessions Health (via Stripe) 2.9% + $0.30.
  • Telehealth add-ons. TherapyNotes Premium Telehealth is $15 per clinician a month. Sessions Health telehealth is $10 per practitioner. TheraNest Essentials needs a $12 per therapist add-on. Jane Group Telehealth is $15 per opted-in practitioner.
  • Insurance claims. SimplePractice lists $0.39 per claim, TherapyNotes 25¢ per electronic claim, and Sessions Health from $0.25 per claim.
  • Promotions that end. SimplePractice currently shows 50% off for three months for new customers, then standard pricing. Budget on the standard price.

Setup fees are rare. TheraNest says it has no setup or implementation fees, Jane says it does not charge for data import help, and TherapyNotes lists no signup fee.

Worked example 1: a solo therapist

Assumptions: one full-time therapist, 80 sessions a month, one text reminder per session, clients book online from the practice website.

Tool and planBaseText remindersMonthly total
Sessions Health Professional$39$0$39
TheraNest Advanced$5930 × $0.10 = $3$62
SimplePractice Essential$79$0$79
Jane Practice$79$0$79
TherapyNotes Solo$6980 × $0.14 = $11.20$80.20
IntakeQ Practice Management$84.90Not stated$84.90+
SimplePractice Plus (website widget)$99$0$99

Add $20 a year for SimplePractice's CPT fee or $19.50 for TheraNest's. Jane Balance ($59) is not in the table because its 20-appointment cap is far below 80 sessions. IntakeQ's low-volume plan is out for the same reason.

The spread is about $60 a month. For a solo practice, the cheaper tools are worth a trial. The pricier ones earn their fee only if you value their booking style, such as Jane's real-time slots or SimplePractice's request approval.

Worked example 2: a five-clinician group

Assumptions: five full-time clinicians, 400 sessions a month in total, one text reminder per session.

Tool and planSeatsText remindersMonthly total
Sessions Health Professional$39 + 4 × $29 = $155$0$155
IntakeQ Practice Management$84.90 + 4 × $30 = $204.90Not stated$204.90+
Jane Practice$79 + 4 × $35 = $219$0$219
Jane Thrive$99 + 4 × $40 = $259$0$259
TheraNest Advanced5 × $59 = $295350 × $0.10 = $35$330
TherapyNotes Group$89 + 4 × $60 = $329400 × $0.14 = $56$385
SimplePractice Plus$99 + 4 × $74 = $395$0$395

Add $100 a year in CPT fees on SimplePractice and $97.50 on TheraNest. If two of the five clinicians work part-time, Jane Practice drops to $79 + 2 × $35 + 2 × $17.50 = $184.

At group size, per-clinician pricing matters more than the base fee. The gap between the cheapest and the most expensive option here is $240 a month, or $2,880 a year.

If you keep an EHR you like and only need better booking, Acuity Premium at $55 a month (annual billing) covers up to 36 calendars and includes a BAA. You then pay for two systems, so add your EHR cost to compare fairly.

Pricing checklist before you sign

  • Which plan includes online booking or appointment requests, not just a calendar?
  • Which plan includes a website widget or booking link you can put on your site?
  • Are text reminders free, capped or billed per message?
  • Which plan includes the BAA, and is it signed at signup or on request?
  • What does each extra clinician cost, and is there a cheaper part-time rate?
  • Are admin and billing staff free?
  • What are the CPT, card processing, claim and telehealth fees?
  • Is the price you are quoted a promotion? What is the standard rate?
  • Is there a free trial, and can you leave without a contract?

Frequently asked questions

How much does online booking software cost for a therapist?

For a solo therapist, expect about $39 to $99 a month for a plan that includes booking and text reminders. Sessions Health Professional starts at $39, and SimplePractice Essential and Jane Practice are both $79. Standalone schedulers with a BAA, like Acuity Premium, start at $55 a month on annual billing.

Are text reminders included in the price?

Sometimes. SimplePractice includes them on Essential and Plus, Jane on Practice and Thrive where SMS is available, and Sessions Health at no extra charge. TherapyNotes charges 14¢ per text or call, and TheraNest Advanced charges $0.10 each after 50 a month.

Which plan do I need for a BAA?

It varies. SimplePractice's BAA forms part of its terms from account creation, Sessions Health includes one at signup, and Jane's terms say it signs one on request. Acuity offers it only on Premium. A BAA alone does not make you compliant.

What will online booking cost a five-clinician group?

Using list prices and one text reminder per session, our example ranged from $155 a month (Sessions Health) to $395 (SimplePractice Plus). Part-time clinicians lower the bill on Jane. Run your own numbers with your session count.

For tool-by-tool verdicts, see our best online booking software for therapists list and our SimplePractice vs Jane App comparison. If you are weighing booking against other site costs, our guide to what a therapist website costs helps you budget the whole project, and our HIPAA-compliant forms and scheduling guide covers setup. Our therapy practice website team can add the booking flow to your site once you choose.

Get a FREE Website Audit

Enter your website and get a 20–30 page SEO, GEO, AEO & CRO audit within 24 hours. Completely free.

Don't have a site yet? Get in touch →

Ready to speak with a marketing expert?
Give us a call! (916) 866-7893

Websites Launched
1407
Websites Launched
Marketing Experts
29
Marketing Experts
Hours of Dedicated Work
204533
Hours of Dedicated Work
Irina S.Benjamin G.Jeanette M.David G.